Enter a symbol:
For Toronto: TSX:TD
FORUM

You are here :  Home > Forum
April 25, 2024, 07:23:06 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Please, write to us so we can activate your new account!

Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Canadian Trade Laws - 'Free Ride'?  (Read 18713 times)
username

« on: August 19, 2010, 10:24:26 AM »

Hi, I'm a student and I'm looking to start buying and selling stocks through Questrade.

My strategy is pretty simple - I'm only looking to make pocket money, so I'm going to buy, hold, then sell as soon as I'm just a bit past my commission, so say when I'm $30 or $40 up.

My question is about the term 'free ride'. I've seen it in a few books and on a few forums, but it's never been clearly explained to me.

As I understand it, I can't sell a stock I've purchased until the purchase order is cleared, unless I'm buying on margin. I'm not opening a margin account, since I only have $3000 to invest.

I've also read that a purchase order takes 3 business days to clear! Does that mean that if I buy a stock, I can't sell it for 3 days? That doesn't work with my trading strategy, since if it goes up and I want to close my position a few days, or a few hours later, I want to be able to sell it!

So can anyone explain how this works for me?

TL;DR - can I sell a stock a few hours after I buy it, if I'm not trading on margin?
DCA

« Reply #1 on: September 04, 2010, 03:10:27 PM »