Enter a symbol:
For Toronto: TSX:TD
FORUM

You are here :  Home > Forum
March 28, 2024, 01:36:51 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: You have to register again even if you are already a member of the Super Stock Picker.

Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: TSX: trading multiple times  (Read 24545 times)
mo_rocks

« on: October 22, 2010, 01:36:50 PM »

Hi - I'm new hear and I'm quite new to trading on the market, though I've paper traded a combination of the SSP 3,4,5 portfolios for half a year. I've started doing some real trading and have same some small profits.

A question I have is - somewhere in my reading I seem to remember someone talking about a charge or fee related to trading activity. It regarded buying and selling the same stock multiple times in a day - basically the fee was to discourage people from creating or adding to stock price volatility.

I'm not sure if I understood the remark correctly - just wondering if someone picks up on what I may have read and can clarify. Also note that it might have been related to a US exchange, not the TSX. For now I'm trading only on the TSX, and am wondering if this fee/charge does exist for the TSX.

Thanks in advance for any replies/explanations given.
DCA

« Reply #1 on: October 25, 2010, 04:35:42 AM »

If you do not have a margin account then the stock must be held for three (3) days before you can sell it.

But other than that I do not know of any fees for multiple trades on one stock in a day.  If they exist, I guess I have never hit them.

D
mo_rocks

« Reply #2 on: October 25, 2010, 09:23:00 PM »

Thanks for the reply.
So if I have a margin account, meaning I borrow money to buy and sell stocks, I can do that as soon/often as I want - but if I have an account with my own $10k I have to hold them for 3 days?

Do you have any recommended sites where I can read up on rules like this?

Thanks again