Enter a symbol:
For Toronto: TSX:TD
FORUM

You are here :  Home > Forum
March 29, 2024, 10:23:06 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: You have to register again even if you are already a member of the Super Stock Picker.

Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Delay Filter clarification, please.  (Read 28871 times)
boingo

« on: September 13, 2017, 06:02:04 PM »

I'm still a bit confused by the delay filter that is used for the Ultimate portfolios.  And please forgive me for my amateur knowledge in this.  I am new to investing but am very much eager to get my finances in order and your program seems a great choice for me.

So, regarding the delay filter.  So it's a delay imposed by your software for 1,2,3,4, or 5 weeks before it performs an actual buy/sell into/out of the portfolio? So in that delay period i assume then it gathers more data about its underlying stocks and if during that period it changes it minds it will do so (e.g. if at the end of the day it wants to sell all holdings then it must wait 1 week for Ultimate v1 and if during that time the holdings performance changes then that sell is cancelled).

So then i assume this mean the software does not send email alerts on its intentions to buy/sell for 1 (or more) weeks or will one still get email alerts each day about the software intentions to buy/sell.  I'd prefer to get email alerts for say Ultimate v4 and v5 only.
DCA

« Reply #1 on: September 17, 2017, 12:36:34 PM »

Hi boingo,

SSP is essentially a momentum strategy.  What we want is to buy a stock at a low price that is quickly going up to a high price and then sell.  The trick is not to be leaping in to early on a stock that might have only had one quick small move or to be too late and buying a stock as its bubble bursts.