Enter a symbol:
For Toronto: TSX:TD
FORUM

You are here :  Home > Forum
May 03, 2024, 01:13:33 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: You have to register again even if you are already a member of the Super Stock Picker.

Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Maximize Gains and Minimize Losses  (Read 45806 times)
LuckyWon

« on: January 31, 2007, 06:24:39 PM »

Stop losses can be a good way to minimize losses, but as every one here already knows, it can be tricky finding the optimum stop loss, so that you don't loose out on future gains.

I am just getting started here and think that the momentum portfolios with delays offers a great method to maximize gains and minimize losses.

Starting with the Price Momentum Weekly portfolio a buy is issued on a qualifying stock.  A week later, if there has been no sell order, this stock is listed as buy for the Ultimate Price Momentum V1, an so on until Ultimate Price Momentum V5, five weeks later.  So obviously if a stock makes it all the way to V5 is a has been a winner.  Conversely, if a stock doesn't make it to V2 it is a looser.

So if you place your buys, when recommended, each time for each portfolio, you should be heavily weighted in the winning stocks and not so heavy with the losing stocks.  Essentially maximizing the profitable purchases and minimizing the loosing purchases.

For example, you would hold five units of a stock that makes it all the way to V5.  For a stock that only makes it to V1 or V2 before being sold, you would only be holding 1 or 2 units.  I guess you could buy equal number of shares, or buy equal dollar value each time.

I have yet to back test this with the posted trading history of each portfolio.  I will post the result when I do.

Cheers
dlanor

« Reply #1 on: February 01, 2007, 03:23:43 AM »

Hi,